Reverse Engineering RET Homepage RET Members Reverse Engineering Projects Reverse Engineering Papers Reversing Challenges Reverser Tools RET Re-Search Engine Reverse Engineering Forum Reverse Engineering Links

Go Back   Reverse Engineering Team Board > Reverse Engineering Board > Reverse Code Engineering
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:01 AM
plyder plyder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default

Hi there, I'm an absolute newbie to this and have had a copy of softice for a while. My problem is that if I set breakpoints and they execute, nothing happens and softice does not break and does not pop up. Im running winXP pro. can anyone help me as to the problem :huh:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2005, 04:40 AM
quitsendingmetrash quitsendingmetrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 29
Default

Would good luck be a good enough answer?

The simple solution is to use OllyDbg until you get some experience. Then you can try to get softice working in your spare time. Unless you are doing something that requires softice OllyDbg may be the way to gol

If you have an extra machine laying around you could refomat and put a fresh install of WindowsXp. Do not update or load any service packs. See if softice will run. It may even work with SP1. You have to be careful with the windows updates. They can stop softice from working. If softice is a must then it could be worth it to have a box just for softice. Be sure you have a version of softice that is for XP. You could even dual boot your current machine as a softiceBox.

Don't have an extra box and want to use WindowsUpdates. Then you could search compuware for "OSINFO.DAT". There may aslo be one called "osinfoReg" I don't recall. Find the correct file for your version of windows and service pack. You may get a couple bluescreens trying to load this stuff.

If your sofitce is running and just won't popup you can try to run it from a fullscreeen dos mode. If this does not work and your softice is running and just not breaking make sure you have the export symbols in the WINICE.DAT file uncommented. If you have already done all this then you probably need to download the symbols from microsoft. Then use Symbol Loader to import them. When you update Windows you need to download the symbols and import them into Symbol Loader.

For symbols you could try:
_http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/devtools/debugging/symbolpkg.mspx
or
_http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;311503

You may also need to use the Universal Video Driver.

Check out the softice manual for more details. This is a common problem. So if none of this works contact compuware on their support page: _http://frontline.compuware.com/

Here is a taste of others having problems.
_http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=49345

Search around and try enough things for long enough you will eventually get it to work. Granted it may take a year or two.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.