Reverse Engineering RET Homepage RET Members Reverse Engineering Projects Reverse Engineering Papers Reversing Challenges Reverser Tools RET Re-Search Engine Reverse Engineering Forum Reverse Engineering Links

Go Back   Reverse Engineering Team Board > Reverse Engineering Board > Reverse Code Engineering
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:07 PM
marcus marcus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default Packed I think

I was looking for a vb application to practice on then i ended up on this program when i was trying to debug it it says
"this software cannot run if system debuggers are on the background"

Does that mean that it is packed? if so can anyone point me to the right direction on getting pass this?



[Program url removed by admin]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:25 PM
zyzygy zyzygy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: !nfern0
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to zyzygy
Default

well it could be packed or the author would have added a check to see if there are any debuggers present .

see ya
zyzygy
__________________
Never hold up farts-They go upto your spine , enter your brain and thats where the shitty ideas come from
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:58 PM
marcus marcus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default

How do i go about bypassing that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2004, 05:08 PM
Acid_Cool_178 Acid_Cool_178 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 35
Default

By locating the section where the application find's you debugger, and then patch it..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2004, 08:57 AM
marcus marcus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default

everytime i change i change even just a single bite and save it it comes out as corrupted when i run it. lol i guess this ones too advance for me
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2004, 02:01 PM
zyzygy zyzygy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: !nfern0
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to zyzygy
Default

you might be in for a crc check as well and if that is the case check where such an error is generated and then kill it(i.e. reverse engineer it )

zyzygy
__________________
Never hold up farts-They go upto your spine , enter your brain and thats where the shitty ideas come from
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:40 PM
CoDe_InSiDe CoDe_InSiDe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 28
Default

Hi marcus,

I quickly looked at that program you're talking about (From which the URL has been removed by the admin), and that program has been protected with Armadillo.
So either do some research about Armadillo and try to unpack it, or leave the program alone

Regards,

CoDe_InSiDe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2004, 05:01 PM
marcus marcus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks dude, yeah currently having some research on that. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2005, 10:27 PM
seven seven is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via MSN to seven
Default marcus

( time limit + function limit ) both can be defeated eazy

but unpacking arma iz another story .

CoDe_InSiDe :

glad 2 c u + thx 4 all ur great works .
__________________
[ each day pass , we learn more ]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2005, 12:45 PM
CoDe_InSiDe CoDe_InSiDe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 28
Default

Hi seven,

Quote:
glad 2 c u + thx 4 all ur great works
Glad 2 c u 2 + You're welcome

Regards,

CoDe_InSiDe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.