Reverse Engineering RET Homepage RET Members Reverse Engineering Projects Reverse Engineering Papers Reversing Challenges Reverser Tools RET Re-Search Engine Reverse Engineering Forum Reverse Engineering Links

Go Back   Reverse Engineering Team Board > Reverse Engineering Board > Reverse Code Engineering
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2010, 03:52 AM
zone023 zone023 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Problem installing Aladin Emulator

Hi All,

I have a problem installing an Aladin usb hasp emulator for mastercam x4.
I am using 2 hdd's, each with a version of XP pro.
A few days ago I have reinstalled XP on one hdd.
Now, for some mysterious reason, the Aladin emulator fails to install.
When I click Install.bat the cmd.exe screen opens,
the virtual usb bus enumerator gets installed in system devices, but the Aladin Usb hasp is NOT installed.
Cmd.exe screen says:
"Device node created. Install is complete when drivers are updated...
Updating drivers for root\vusbbus...(etc)"
Cmd screen stays open, nothing happens anymore.
XP gets kind of sticky but remains working, but it hangs when shutting down.
Uninstall.bat does not remove the virtual usb bus enumerator.

I have previously succesfully used the emulator several times, so the emulator itself must be ok.
On the other hdd with XP on it, on which I do everything that is not allowed, it works flawlessly...

My guess is it must be a conflicting (updated?) driver, or some missing ms software.
In am trying to install with a lean XP SP2, .NET framework 2.0, Visual C++ 2005 Redist, IE8...

Can someone please help??
It is driving me kind of crazy...
Even threatening the PC with being thrown out of the window did not help!

A big THANKS in advance...

R.

P.S. Yes, I know, I am a moron....

Last edited by zone023 : 08-31-2010 at 04:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2010, 05:09 AM
WRP WRP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 142
Default

Who made this emulator ?
Possible this emulator protected and linked to appropriate
hardware .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2010, 05:35 AM
zone023 zone023 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

ehh.. pff..

Virtual Usb Bus Enumerator is from Chingachguk & Denger2k.. is that what you mean?

The emulator is working on my other XP system, so it should be OK i guess.

thanks for taking the time...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2010, 05:46 AM
yogi_saw yogi_saw is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 533
Default

my friend I suggest u download mk mk0.18.2.4, in 1) tools/common folder there is utility infclean run it.
delete all files as it shows on the screen
2) remove hasp drivers
3) in windows\system32\driver folder del vusbbus.sys or multikey.sys if exist
4) go to device manager and uninstall multikey
5) reboot
6) install latest drivers for ur dongle
7) install reg file and multikey or vusb

Last edited by yogi_saw : 08-31-2010 at 08:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2010, 06:03 AM
y8y8y8y y8y8y8y is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 210
Default

If you are changing the emulator you should look in to your REG file as well. There is minor changes from version to version, just check the samples.
For me, usually after cleaning all the traces of emulator manually and
reinstalling the drivers that behavior you mentioned pasted. Between each stage (emulator uninstall,driver uninstall...) I reboot.
__________________
Saving the drowning is a job for the drowning themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:15 AM
bolota bolota is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 126
Default

@zone023
One thing, you previously installed alladin device driver?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:47 AM
zone023 zone023 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

@bolota

after playing around a litte more I now have an aladin usb hasp in device manager but it is in "other devices" and not installed correctly(asking for drivers) .

According to the installation instructions i should install the emulator first and mcam x4 afterwards.
I was thinking that maybe mcam x4 should be installed first because it installs the aladin device drivers.
Is that what you mean?

On my other system can install and remove the emulator without any problem.
In that case mcam X4 is already installed, that may be the difference..

THAT's IT!!

Mcam x4 must be installed first.
Obvious, it installs aladin device drivers..
Took me over a week to find out
As said, I am a moron....

thanks for helping everybody

Last edited by Git : 08-31-2010 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2010, 04:43 AM
benito benito is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 685
Default

Drivers have to be installed always at first and then install the emu or attach real dongle
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.