Reverse Engineering RET Homepage RET Members Reverse Engineering Projects Reverse Engineering Papers Reversing Challenges Reverser Tools RET Re-Search Engine Reverse Engineering Forum Reverse Engineering Links

Go Back   Reverse Engineering Team Board > Reverse Engineering Board > Reverse Code Engineering
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-23-2010, 06:26 AM

Default HL-Solver Not Finding Seeds?

Hi All,

I am new to hardlock emulation so please forgive me if I anger somebody because I am such a n00b.

Trying to get a Aladdin Eye Hardlock emulated, it is of the parallel type and I believe from the output given by Sp0raw's HL-Dump tool that it is the old type that does not have any ASIC memory? It has the brass connectors (which is important I believe too). Reason for emulation is so that I can move the software into a VM without having to purchase a PCIx Parallel Card for our Dell ESX server.

After much searching and reading a lot of dongle reverse engineering documentation I think I am taking the right steps as follows:

1. Using the Toro Monitor tool I start the protected software, this tells me that I have a hardlock running at 0x131F (ModAd=4895).
2. I then use Sp0raw's HL-Dump tool and tell it to dump from ModAd 0x131f. This creates the .DAT and .REG files named 131F.
3. I import the .REG file into the registry and then using HL-Solver I enter the ModAd 0x131f and click the Find button.

This is where I get lost as it runs until 100% is hit but never displays any seeds.

Can anybody help? Is it the case that as I am using the non-memory based hardlock that I cannot find the seeds?

Cheers.

Spar1GreP
Old 03-23-2010, 07:44 AM

Send a message via ICQ to justine Send a message via MSN to justine Send a message via Yahoo to justine Send a message via Skype™ to justine

you have old type of hardlock with flora asic . use unidmp2reg to find seeds
Old 03-23-2010, 08:25 AM

Red face

Hi ALLEZ!!